5 minute Friday – Listen

Listen

Go…

I often put off reaching out to others because I am afraid that I won’t know what to say. But what to say is not really the thing I need to be worrying about. The skill I need to hone is how to listen.

The Spirit nudges me quite often to take action – make a call, write that note, do that task I’ve have been putting off, ask that question, do that hard thing, face that fear, stop that, go there… I am immensely blessed when I listen.

When I need forgiveness, I can apologize and ask for it but then it’s only meaningful if I take the time to listen.

I wonder a lot what people are thinking; I find out when I listen.

Seeking God’s wisdom & guidance only helps if I listen.

I can’t know how to help someone in need if I don’t hear and then listen.

So… Do they know God? Do they care? Are we okay? Can I help? What’s going on? What’s happening? What should I do? Where should I go? Who? What? When? How?  Why?

Let’s find out. Let’s Listen.

Stop…

7 thoughts on “5 minute Friday – Listen

  1. You are so right! I feel like you a lot of the time! Then, I feel so silly afterwards, because He does bless us so much! I only wish I remembered His blessings more in that moment instead of trying to be defiant.

    J.

  2. Oh wow! So good. This was like a predictable movie with an unexpected ending. I thought I knew where you were going with learning how to listen, but how you ended this post just convicted me with the importance of learning WHY to listen. Glad I found you over at FMF. I’m sure I’ll be back.

    • Thank you. Nice to meet you. Your encouragement is very generous and I appreciate it so much. I visited your blog, I like your style. I look forward to reading more once I figure out how to follow people… ha!

  3. Love it! New visitor from FMF… would love if you came by my place too. I love this very direct reminder of how we wonder and try to figure stuff out and sometimes what we should be doing is listening. 🙂 Awesome!

Leave a Reply

